Showing posts with label kamryn 4 months. Show all posts
Showing posts with label kamryn 4 months. Show all posts

Monday, October 27, 2008

Poor little Kamryn

Kamryn has had fevers for the past few days and as a result has been extremely fussy. Yesterday in church she whined and moaned the whole time and spit up half her bottle all over me in Sunday School. I know, I probably should've stayed home with her but it was the primary program so I couldn't miss (more on that later.) Anyway, I scheduled a doctor appt. for her this morning at 11:30, I left in a big hurry because I had 10 minutes to make it clear across town. I made it more than half way when I realized I had left the babies bottles both on the counter at home. CURSES!!! It was feeding time for both so I knew I had to turn back so I called the doc to tell him I'd be late but they told me I'd better hurry because the office was closing. SO, I hurried home, grabbed the bottles, drove like a maniac (not really) and made it to the office just in time, shewed 4 kids in to the office and sat down w/ a sigh of relief. Doctor Smith checked Kamryn's ears only to tell me that they both looked clear and of course, Kamryn was all smiles for him. I think I mentioned in one of my earlier post, kids never act sick at the doctors office even if they are on their death bed 5 minutes earlier. Anyway, he said something like, "she has good color and she seems pretty happy, so that's good," I looked at him and said, "Oh, c'mon Doctor Smith, you don't think I'd be lugging 4 kids in here just for the fun of it, do you?" He just looked at me and laughed and then I told him that some of my kids struggle with bladder infections and wondered if it could possibly be that so the nurse came in to put a catheter in which made me so sad. She was one unhappy camper and for good reason. Those things hurt!! After waiting around for a bit, the doctor came in to let me know it was a urinary tract infection. He prescribed some antibiotics and then sent me over to the hospital to deliver her urine to the lab for further testing and then told me I need to have a test done to see if she has urinary reflux. So, we'll be doing that in a few days and hopefully the medicine will kick in. What I thought would be an hour, at the most, at the doctor turned in to 3 hours and much more running around than I had anticipated. I didn't pack my stroller because I really didn't think I'd need it but I was kicking myself while carrying two extremely heavy babies through the halls of the hospital in their carriers. On the bright side, I'm getting some bulging biceps and I end up meeting and talking to a lot of people wherever I go because people are just drawn to crazy ladies carrying 2 babies in carriers with 2 little kids trailing behind. I finally got home around 2:30 and thankfully, Kamryn slept until 4:30 and Porter was a little angel so I was able to get some dinner prepared. Kamryn's been generally miserable this evening the poor little thing. I always feel so helpless when my kids are sick and just want to take all the aches and pains away. I really hope the meds kick in soon and that she'll be back to her happy self soon.